[MaFLa] Fwd: [PhilPhys] Lakatos Award 2010 Announcement of Winner; Lakatos Award 2011 Call for Nominations

Laszlo E. Szabo leszabo at phil.elte.hu
Thu Jan 13 23:58:52 CET 2011

- Forwarded Message -

Subject: [PhilPhys] Lakatos Award 2010 Announcement of Winner; Lakatos Award 
2011 Call for Nominations
Date: Thursday, January 13, 2011
From: S.Burri at lse.ac.uk
To: philphys at phil.elte.hu

The London School of Economics and Political Science announces that this 
year's Lakatos Award, of £10,000 for an outstanding contribution

to the philosophy of science, goes to: Peter Godfrey-Smith (Harvard 
University), for his book Darwinian Populations and Natural Selection 

(Oxford University Press, 2009). He will visit LSE to receive the Award and 
give the Award Public Lecture during summer term, 2011.


The book develops a new analysis and extension of Darwin's idea of natural 
selection - one that draws on new developments in philosophy of 

science, biology and other fields.  The central concept involved is that of a 
"Darwinian population," a collection of things with the capacity to undergo 
change by natural selection. From this starting point, new analyses of the 
role of genes in evolution, the application of Darwinian ideas to cultural 
change, and "evolutionary transitions" that produce complex organisms and 
societies are developed. 


The Lakatos Award is given for an outstanding contribution to the philosophy 
of science, widely interpreted, in the form of a book

published in English during the previous five years.  It was made possible by a 
generous endowment from the Latsis Foundation.  The

Award is in memory of the former LSE professor, Imre Lakatos, and is 
administered by an international Management Committee organised from

the LSE. The Committee, chaired by John Worrall, decides the outcome of the 
Award competition on the advice of an international,

independent and anonymous panel of Selectors.


Nominations can now be made for the 2011 Lakatos Award, and must be received 
by Friday 22nd April 2011. The 2011 Award will be for a book

published in English with an imprint from 2006-2011 inclusive. A book may, 
with the permission of the author, be nominated by any person of

recognised standing within the profession. For further details of the 
nomination procedure or more information on the Lakatos Award 2011,

contact the Administrator, Susanne Burri on + 44 (0) 78 389 48225, or email 
S.Burri at lse.ac.uk.

Please access the attached hyperlink for an important electronic 
communications disclaimer: http://lse.ac.uk/emailDisclaimer

L a s z l o  E.  S z a b o
Professor of Philosophy
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: Lakatos Award Press release 2010.pdf
Type: application/octet-stream
Size: 14428 bytes
Desc: Lakatos Award Press release 2010.pdf
URL: <http://phil.elte.hu/pipermail/mafla/attachments/20110113/2a513825/attachment.obj>
-------------- next part --------------
MaFLa - Hungarian philosophers' mailing list
Archives & Help: http://phil.elte.hu/mafla

More information about the MaFLa mailing list